The Horne Section will perform a one-off special Christmas show on Thursday 7th December at the famous Speigeltent which is taking residence at Leicester Square over the Yuletide season.

What is the true meaning of Christmas? It’s hard to say, but probably it’s something to do with five talented musicians being made to do silly things by a bearded comedian. Will they do a carol? Definitely. Can you wear hilarious Christmas jumpers? That’s up to you. Will there be chocolate eggs? No, that’s Easter. But whatever happens, Alex Horne and his band of muddled men will do their best to spread Christmas joy all over the old-fashioned tent.

The Horne Section have enjoyed numerous sold-out runs at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe as well as at The Lyric Theatre – Shaftesbury Avenue, The Criterion Theatre and The Hackney Empire. Away from the stage they have hosted three series of the successful Alex Horne Presents The Horne Section (BBC Radio 4), regularly appear in dictionary corner on 8 Out of 10 Cats Does Countdown (Channel 4), and were the first ever band to host an episode of Nevermind the Buzzcocks (BBC Two). 

Acclaimed comedian Alex Horne is the band leader at the helm of The Horne Section. Alex is the creator and co-host of Taskmaster; the BAFTA, Emmy, Royal Television Society, Broadcasting Press Guild and Broadcast Award nominated show which is currently on air as the highest rated series of 2017 on UKTV. A brand new two part Champion of Champions special will air later this year on Dave bringing together all five of the show’s series champions for the ultimate battle. The show has been licensed to numerous territories around the world, and a US version, with Reggie Watts (The Late Late Show with James Corden) taking on the role of Taskmaster has been made for Comedy Central. Alex is also an Edinburgh Fringe veteran taking nine solo shows to the festival and earning an Edinburgh Comedy Award nomination in 2014 following a Best Newcomer Award nomination in 2003.

The Horne Section are: Alex Horne (band leader), Joe Auckland (trumpet and banjo), Mark Brown (saxophone), Will Collier (bass), Ben Reynolds (drums and percussion) and Ed Sheldrake (keyboards).